Libraries Honor Durden and Middlesworth Prize Winners

Ann Marie Rasmussen and Hannah Craddock
Photo credit: Nelda Webb

On October 22, the Libraries held a special reception honoring the winners of the Chester P. Middlesworth Award and the Robert F. Durden Prize. The Middlesworth Award and Durden Prize recognize Duke University students’ excellence in research, analysis, and writing and their use of primary sources and rare materials held by the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library (Middlesworth Award) and the Libraries’ general collections (Durden Prize). Each award carries a cash prize of $1,000. Pictured here are Professor Ann Marie Rasmussen (left) and Hannah Craddock, recipient of the 2010 Middlesworth Award for best senior honors thesis.