Currently viewing the category: "Databases"

The Divinity School Library is pleased to offer a new database, U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950, with over 35,000 pages digitized from the US National Archives. This new database provides a wealth of unique correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican’s [...]

Continue Reading

The interface for the ATLA Religion Database now features an enhanced PDF viewer. Once you are viewing an article provided in PDF, a new Table of Contents column will appear on the left which will enable you to easily browse other articles within the issue, or among all available volumes and issues. If you are [...]

Continue Reading

The Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD) covers single-language dictionaries and multilingual ones. It links the dictionaries to databases of texts and tools, allowing for analysis. Among the dictionaries included are Forcellini’s Onomasticon, A Latin Dictionary by Lewis and Short, the Dictionarius familiaris et compendiosus by Guillaume Le Talleur, and Glossary of Later Latin by [...]

Continue Reading

The Duke University Libraries and the Duke University Alumni Association have worked together to provide access to a set of online resources now available to all Duke alumni. The databases include the full ATLA Religion Database (religion), EBSCO Academic Search Alumni Edition (multidisciplinary), JSTOR (multidisciplinary), and ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete (business). These databases collectively provide hundreds [...]

Continue Reading

We are pleased to announce that the Chicago Manual of Style Online is now available for the Duke community.  The Chicago Manual of Style, the foundation for Turabian and the SBL Handbook of Style, has a nearly comprehensive list of citation examples that can help sort out tricky citation problems. In addition [...]

Continue Reading

The ATLA Religion Database has recently added an expanded scripture reference searching for records indexed within a scripture range. For example, a search for Genesis 1:6 will return articles related just to Genesis 1:6 as well as articles with a broader pericope such as Genesis 1:1-25 or Genesis 1-2:3.

To use this new functionality, [...]

Continue Reading

Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains every English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works.  At more than 138,000 titles, additional digitized works have recently been added as well as a new integrated search with Early English Books Online. The combined search of these [...]

Continue Reading

Patrologiae Graecae contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

PG is a collection of the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern [...]

Continue Reading

RefWorks at Duke

On October 14, 2008 By

RefWorks is a personal online database and bibliography center. Use RefWorks to create a web-based database of references that can be imported, organized, managed, and shared with others. Similar to Endnote, RefWorks can also be used to insert properly formatted citations into bibliographies and manuscripts.

To create a new account, access RefWorks [...]

Continue Reading

World Christian Database

On October 1, 2008 By

The World Christian Database includes detailed information on 9,000 Christian denominations and on religions in every country of the world. Extensive data are available on 238 countries and 13,000 ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as on 5,000 cities and 3,000 provinces. Based on World Christian Encyclopedia and World Christian Trends, information is readily [...]

Continue Reading